Japanese CD Review: Koda Kumi – Trick (2009)

3.5 out of 5

3.5 out of 5

I was really excited to find out that Koda Kumi had a new album releasing this month.  I have continuosly enjoyed her music throughout the years even through changes in style and sound.  I am happy to report that it is currently number 1 on the Oricon charts.  After last years controversy I was uncertain about her comeback.  At least the Japanese are a little more forgiving than the Chinese (ie: Edison Chen)

My ratings per song.

My ratings per song.

Overall, the album is pretty strong.  After a few listens though, “Black Cherry” is still Koda’s strongest album in my opinion. However, there are a few gems on this album.  My biggest surprise is that Taboo became my favorite song on the album.  I didn’t much care for it when the single released, it kind of blended into the background for me.  But, after a few turns on the ol’ WMP I think the album version of Taboo has a stronger composition.  I also like the representation the video gives to homosexuality.  It’s not a common theme in most Asian culture (aside for Yuri/Yaoi stuff.)  It’s nice to see a little bit of modern acceptance of it in any form.  My second favorite is Show Girl – a fun track that has a good beat.  The song Bling Bling Bling is just plain annoying as hell.  I can’t stand it at all. I listened to it once all the way through and now skip it along with That Ain’t Cool.  I never liked Kumi’s colaberation with Fergie.  Alone, I like them both perfectly fine, but this song grates at my nerves.  It doesn’t seem very well thought out, as if someone thought “Hey, let’s team Koda Kumi up with Fergie, who cares what they sing!”  The video is kind of pointless, lots of grinding around on eachother with a few nice-looking cars thrown in for affect.  Driving is a fun track, rock-ish in nature with a little Koda Kumi flare.  Just the Way You Are, Joyful, & Your Love all return Koda to her pop roots and are simple and sweet.

Overall, it is a good album – but that’s it.  Just good.  Not great, mindblowing or amazing.  Just pretty good.  I really hope that the songs I didn’t like weren’t the one’s that Koda herself worked on; because I know she had more input on this album.  I like the fact that the more time that passes, the more effort she is puting into the albums other than just singing.  Hopefully she will just get better and better.


2 thoughts on “Japanese CD Review: Koda Kumi – Trick (2009)

  1. asdfd says:

    I actually thought this cd was gonna be dumb because she did say she wanted this cd to be more entertaining for her fans so thats why its a bit different, and also hearing like 30 second clips on youtube and stuff didnt help either, it made the songs sound dumb. but after hearing this cd with high quality and from start to finish, i actually give it a 4.3 out of 5 😛

    i like your opinion though 😛

  2. kamalachan says:

    Thanks asdfd. I’m glad you liked my thoughts on the album, and I’m equally glad that you liked the album too. I think we get to hear a little more out of Koda Kumi on some of the songs. A few more of the songs are growing on me as I keep listening. I still don’t like Bling, Bling,Bling though!

Leave a Reply

